Tags

, , ,

My Top 5 annoying patient habits, & personal solutions

I find it not to be the fault of the patient to be inquisitive even if they asked at the wrong moment.  They may not be properly informed about the process flow of the proper eye refraction routine.  I also find these habits annoying because I see them being done repeatedly, over and over, and I haven’t done anything to change it YET.  Sometimes, I also find myself tired of repeating instructions to patient to another patient. But I have to remind myself that these are not the patient I saw since this morning and they do not know the drill I’m doing throughout the day so it’s best to let them be informed (even if it means saying the same old line over and over)

5. Sitting on my chair when I instructed “kindly take the center chair pls.”

Solution: look at the patient (not the monitor) with arms extended to the center chair and instruct “Center chair pls.

4. Asking “o, ano na grado ko” when the refraction is not finished yet. It is usually asked right after taking the autorefraction result. It is just an initial computerized refraction result that serves as a basis for refraction, not the final Rx. But explaining this would lead to further questions.

Solution: just reply the memorized line delivered in different intonations and word spinning “we will soon find out after the lens test for the final checking”

3. Pulling the chair when the autorefractor has its own wheels and therefore has the ability to move towards the patient effortlessly.

Solution: instruct the patient to “Just sit down, just sit down”(repeat if necessary) “I will move the machine closer”

2. “bakit malabo ung silip sa computer” referring to the objective examination method using autorefractor. During Objective method,  the machine can only take the reading not the ability to clear the vision. Lenses have the ability to clear the vision so long as it is not caused by any pathological conditions. Then again, too much explaining can be draining.

Solution: Drink vitamins every day, like the famous vitamin ad says” more energy more happy” I am ready to face questions as well as interrogations from patients in a calm and respectful way.

1.” ikaw na ba yung doctor? ”

In some days, I do not find this question offensive, or insulting

Solution: I find it helpful to dress up as a tv host sometimes or just make an effort to make myself presentable to avoid this questions. Dark lipstick helps.

Others:

-cell phone ringing during eye exam

-restroom break when called in

General guidelines or information on getting an eye check up:

1. Objective examination using autorefractor or commonly referred to as the computerized eye check up (fascilitated by an optometrist)

2. Subjective Refraction thru the use of trial lenses and visual acuity chart (facilitated by an optometrist)

3. Recommendation and patient education on what, when, how a lens is best to be used, including color and filters.

If eyeglasses are needed only, then eyeglass prescription is released for optical dispensing. (May be or may not be facilitated by an opto)

3.1choosing frame

3.2 price disclosure

If there is an underlying pathological condition in the eye (i.e. Cataract, glaucoma)

4. Refer to ophthalmologist

5. Payments

