Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

20170413_141841-01

My 5-minute reunion with a previous classmate of mine got me browsing through the timeline of my career as an optometrist. Back in college days, I thought we already had enough management options in my field to the point  that I complain in getting all these treatment options in my system. I had to devise a flow chart in my mind where the endpoint of each patient visit is either patient satisfaction, or referral to Ophthalmologist. Now, I am employed under a prestigious clinical institution, I had to re-device my flow chart. I had to be more involved because we receive the referrals this time, the patient has no where else to go. Instead of putting a limit into my practice, I needed to embrace new technology and learning.

Working under a doctor hungry for avant-garde in our eye facility, I can say I am fortunate to be a part of technological modernization in my profession. From the art  and science of prescribing glasses, contact lenses, vision therapy and detecting eye problems, I am now involved in a myopia-GONE-IN-60-SECONDS-procedure! That’s without cutting/touching the patient eyes. While doing vision screening for patients, some are still amazed by the fact that the treatment will just involve patient looking at a light-bzzzzzbzzzzz (for the laser)-heal time-then voila! (that’s only one treatment option)

Sometimes I think patients are still not informed that along with the rise of technological advancement in the  market today, the high-tech innovations in the Optometry-Ophthalmology field is not far-off too. Believe me, it does not only make life easier for patients but also for practitioners as well. There are modern treatments available now, not only for eye diseases but also for refractive correction for the young and old.  I am surprised myself with the overwhelming rise of the options too, but I have to keep up as a practitioner too don’t I? Quoting from the words of a well known Naturalist:

“It is not the strongest or the most intelligent who will survive but those who can best manage change.—Charles Darwin

There are so many beautiful things out there to see. We are already living in the days where we can make the most out of our lives if we want to.  So I told myself I had to respond to the call of modernization, move out of my comfort zone so I could give the best attainable quality of life for others too, my patients particularly.  Fellow colleagues and patients, will you respond the same as well?

 

